Special award at Club Prizegiving

A man stands in front of a banner reading "Rugeley Rifle Club". He is wearing a silver medal on a blue ribbon, and holds a framed certificate recognising his services to target shooting with a Silver Award from the National Smallbore Rifle Association.

Rugeley Rifle Club celebrated the past year’s achievements at their annual prize-giving on Friday night, with trophies presented by Councillor Sarah Elsom DL. The highlight of the evening was the surprise presentation of the NSRA Silver Award to Club Chairman Martyn Buttery. Martyn has long served on committee roles in the Club, as well as sitting on the Rifle Committee at the NSRA. He was instrumental in bringing the British Shooting School’s Shooting Championship Finals to Chase Leisure Centre – an event which has relied heavily on volunteers from Rugeley serving as range staff. In addition to prizes and trophies for shooting achievements, a number of discretionary awards were made. Megan Bamsey won the Captain’s Prize for achievements over the past year, including selection to represent GB at the 2023 ISSF Junior World Cup, and the Secretary’s Award to Russell Barlow for his outstanding support instructing and coaching within the club.

A £500 cheque was also presented to Rugeley and District Community First Responders, one of the club’s chosen charities. RADCFR maintain the defibrillator hosted on the outside of the club. This lifesaving piece of equipment was installed in 2019. Since then it has been activated six times, and used at least twice.


  • Short Range Champion – Richard Hemingway
  • 50metre Frostbite Champion (Winter) – Martyn Buttery
  • 50M/ISSF Champion – Richard Hemingway
  • Dewar Champion – Craig Dower
  • 10M Air Pistol Champion – Paul Watkiss
  • 10M Air Rifle Champion – Ryan Williams
  • Benchrest Champion – Paul Watkiss
  • “Through the Ranges” Champion – Zoltan Papp
  • “Through the Ranges” Runner-Up – Dave Glover
  • “Through the Ranges” Handicap Champion – Lee Featherstone


  • Junior Short Range Trophy – George Robinson
  • Junior Long Range Trophy – Alex Buttery
  • Best Potential (Junior) – Izzy Clark
  • Best Potential (Senior) – John Passey
  • Best Improver – Lee Featherstone
  • Secretary’s Award – Russell Barlow

Captain’s Award Nominees

Zoe Perkin

  • Fifth in final of NISC Open

Pippa Watterson

  • Finalist, British Shooting Schools Championship
  • Fourth in final of NISC Open, won Class C